Have you ever ended up sending a mail to someone that you knew needed some more corrections? Or was it sent to the wrong person perhaps?
As much as you want, emails are like bullets that are fired – once forced to move, they cannot be called back or undo the damage done.
However, we have now been able to receive a feature that will not only help you combat this situation, but will also keep your mails safe, no matter whose hands the mail is in.
This feature, also known as Dmail is a remarkable addition.
It helps you to revoke access to an email that you have sent out accidentally.
Asides the application would also stop the recipient of the wrong mail from forwarding the mail to others.
Let us take a look at how the application works.
Although the feature has been around for quite some time, like the Outlook users who have been able to recall emails because of the Exchange Server their organization uses.
This feature has not been available to other users outside the organization.
However, this un-send feature has now been made public.
Thanks to Gmail. An email can now be cancelled.
However the maximum time within which you can recall the email is 30 seconds. After this, the email cannot be un-sent anymore.
The Dmail is not a separate application; it is rather a Google Chrome web extension, which if installed by the sender of the mail can give him an option to turn the service off and on.
When turned on, Dmail helps you set a time frame to the time when the mail must be destroyed; it could be either one hour, a day, a week or never.
Revoking an email is possible even under circumstances where the mail has been sent with a never destroy choice.
However, Dmail should have been on when this mail was sent, or you would not be able to get much out of it.
When an email is sent with Dmail enabled, the application cannot be read by the recipient inside the mail account.
This can be read through a message which tells the recipient that you have sent them a mail through Dmail. They can view the mail if they click the “View Message” button and it takes them to a secure page where the recipient can read the mail.
A revoked email will always have the webpage source deleted, so even if the person clicks on the link, the mail would not open.